Split Pea & Ham Soup

As per my last update (at thanksgiving), I mentioned making split pea and ham soup from my leftover ham bone. My mum often makes this soup after we’ve had a big ham dinner, and I have to say it’s one of the best cold weather soups out there. 

On Sunday early afternoon, we brought back a borrowed table to Kendra’s house and chatted a while. On our way home we picked up supplies for soup making:


Disregard the black pasta at the back… That’s for spooky Halloween party nonsense. Anyways, we’ve got 2 bags of split peas (yellow and green, I used about half of each) + onion, chicken brother, and celery. I also grabbed some nubbly looking carrots from the garden.

First things first, you’ve gotta simmer your ham bone: Just throw that sucker in a big stock pot with the broth and enough water to cover it. I let it simmer away for a few hours with the lid on so that the water wouldn’t evaporate. While that’s bubbling away, soak your split peas in some water to help get some of the startchiness outta the way. And then chop up the veggies (I did 4 celery stalks and almost the whole onion). 


After the ham is done simmering turn the heat to low and pull out the bone. Once cooled you want to pull off as much of the meat as you can. I decided that I wanted a bit more, so I chopped up some of the leftover ham from dinner and added that into the pot along with the veggies and the split peas (drained and rinsed).


I found the bones to be super cool. You could articulate the joint fairly well.

Give it a good stir once the veggies are all dumped in.ni added some salt and pepper, but completely forgot to add a bay leaf or two. Oh well, let it simmer and soon…


I like my split pea soup to be very thick. If you like a thinner soup, add more broth or water. I only added a half cup at the end.

Hope you enjoy!

xo

Published by

themellowbeat

Go on over to "a sneak peek" to learn more about me!

Leave a Reply

