Thankful

Today is Thanksgiving Monday here in Canada and I’m super grateful for so many things in my life: my marvellous husband who takes such great care of me and let’s me rest when I need to, my fab parents for always being willing to help out, my siblings for their support and laughter, and to my in laws – my bonus family – for all of their love and happiness.

It has been another busy week, which isn’t much of an excuse for not posting more frequent updates here on the mellow beat, but all will be revealed soon enough!
The hubby and I offered to host thanksgiving dinner this year – it’s a big dinner, but with less pressure than say Christmas or Easter. Both families were happy to let us handle the gathering. Everyone was free on Saturday of the long weekend, so it was the perfect day to have everyone pile in for a mini feast. This way we still had Sunday and Momday free for clean up and relaxing, and our families could do thanksgiving with their other sides as well.

On Friday night after work, the hubby and I ran some errands. We were in need of a lawn mower (ours bit the bullet), a decent sized stock pot (for soup making), and milk; ice cream…and two matching fall table clothes. Once we got home I started making soup  the hubby chopped apart two butternut squash (squashes?), I chopped carrots and onion and tossed them into our previously never used roasting pan. The veggies roasted for THREE hours (I found this out later…the next day… Because I fell asleep). Thank goodness for amazing partners because that soup was fully complete when I woke up the next day. Also thank goodness for cold weather because our garage doubles as a fridge… 

Saturday morning we relaxed until 10am and then began the deep prep: glaze for the ham, chop and simmer the potatoes, bring the soup in to slowly warm up, vacuum & mop the main floor, rearrange the family room and dining room to make space for an extra table… And the hubby mowed the back lawn with our new mower.

Family started arriving around 415pm – my parents and little brother first (mum was quite impressed with our clever rearranging of the furniture), my sister and her husband arrived next, and lastly my two brother in laws, sister in law, and mother in law! We all piled in the chat and relax before dinner at 530. 

My sister brought cabbage salad, my parents brought turkey + stuffing + gravy + carrots and sauerkraut & kielbasa, my mother in law brought her delicious hamemade pumpkin pie (x2). We made a large glazed ham, garlic whipped potatoes, corn… And a surprise chocolate cherry birthday cake for my sister. I’m happy to say I made the cake and whipped cream frosting from scratch! And it was great. 

In the end, everyone was super happy and full of great food. I am SO glad we had a “wildly successful” event (as the hubby says). And we also have wild amounts of leftovers: ham, turkey, stuffing, etc. Because almost  everyone was celebrating again with different parts of the family on Sunday.

I have now had three rounds of leftovers (lunch and dinner on Sunday, lunch today). And successfully made an epic batch of split pea and ham soup… I’ll post about that later!

Check out some photos below of our cleaning frenzy & if you are interested in the squash soup recipe, Google “food wishes butternut squash soup ” (Chef John can do no wrong!).

Hope you have all had an amazing Thanksgiving Weekend if you’re in Canada…or just an awesome weekend if you’re anywhere else.

Some decorative gourds and corn from the grocery store.

Butternut squash soup a la chef John from food wishes.

Our smoked bone in ham complete with the first of many rounds of a maple Dijon glaze.

About to chop a bazillion potatoes.

My sisters birthday cake defrosting before being stacked with cherry pie filling and whipped cream.

The front hallway getting its tidy on.

Moving the table over so we can vacuum and mop the floors.

Tidied up the couch before it got shifted into the current dining room location.

I’ll grab a few photos from my hubby’s FB page to share on my next post. Til then,

xo

Ps: next post will be a breakdown of the split pea n ham soup!

Published by

themellowbeat

Go on over to "a sneak peek" to learn more about me!

Leave a Reply

