Hard to Give Up

Sorry for the mini hiatus – always busy and not always in the mood for computer time.

Last weekend was 3 days long thanks to our holiday Monday. We ran errands, got caught up on laundry (are you ever really caught up?), picked up some things for Hallowe’en (which you will see in a future post!!), and lazed around.

The hubby cooked down a ton of tomatoes from our garden & we now have oodles of tomato sauce. I mowed the back lawn/hill to pretty up the yard, which also doubles as a wicked workout. On both Saturday and Sunday evenings we had our amazing neighbours over to enjoy the fire pit in the backyard. The first night we roasted marshmallows and had s’mores, the second night we just enjoyed the warmth and company.

The workweek was also a day shorter thanks to the holiday… But short work weeks always feel longer. I have no idea why this is, but the week just seemed to drag on. Perhaps because I haven’t been feeling as great and was extra tired from my fitness adventures: 

  • The hubby and I ran on Monday
  • We ran again (same route) on Tuesday with our friend Kendra
  • Wednesday I did legs at the gym & finished wth a power walk
  • Thursday was an hour of yoga

Needless to say, Friday was a day off.

Saturday we celebrated my father in laws 74th birthday! We helped tidy up the house, set the table, & chop veggies for salad and sides. The food was amazing and the company was swell too. Dessert was outta this world, but made me a touch apprehensive – I have been having a lot of stomach issues again lately (last 3 weeks maybe) and I think I’ve narrowed down the culprit to dairy. Very small amounts seem to be okay, and non-lactose milk is a safe option at this point, but guys… I CANT HAVE CHEESE! or at least not an enjoyable amount. And cheese was really the only dairy thing I ate. I love Brie, Camembert, Swiss… Pretty much any kind of cheese. 

To top it off we wine to this amazing artisan cheese shop in Norwich county called “Gunns Hill Artisan Cheese” to pick up some cheese as a gift for the birthday boy. They had samples! Not gonna lie, I risked it and tried the wine soaked cheese and a fresh cheese curd. 5000% worth the risk.


I’m hoping if I reintroduce pro/prebiotics to my arsenal that I’ll be able to digest cheese and dairy happily again, but I have a feeling it’s going to go the way of avocado and peanut butter. And most beans.

On a happier note, we got home before noon today and I had an amazing nap. I think once I wake up a bit more I’ll continue working on my newest crochet blanket. Perhaps, once I’ve gotten a few more rows completed, I’ll post an update. This coming week will be full of adventures too, so keep your eyes peeled for:

  1. Hospital updates
  2. Rehearsal & dinner for sisters wedding
  3. The big day !!

Til,then,

xo

Published by

themellowbeat

Go on over to "a sneak peek" to learn more about me!

Leave a Reply

