iMovie Video Update

Hey darlings!

Do you remember just a few days ago (yep, 4 days ago) I wrote a post about using iMovie?

I had taken some video clips while shooting my sister’s engagement photos (along with “the hubby” << I think thats just what i’ll refer to him here as for now). Initially I really didn’t have any plans for the clips because I had never edited video before, but I thought “I’ve got time (lies – I have little time), why not try to throw together a little video for them as a surprise?” 

And thus began the trials and tribulations of Sara + iMovie + late night. Bad idea. I uploaded a bunch of video clip files and was like ‘I got this.. I GOT this!’ (lies! I so did not have it ). Insert a few tutorials on youtube and my night was over, but I felt much better about editing.

Wednesday last, after dinner and a spot of resting, I trudged back to the office to begin again. It went MUCH more smoothly the second time! A lot of the tutorials I watched suggested using the “blank theme” option, but I opted for the theme that looked like a photo album. It worked out BEAUTIFULLY (I’m so modest!). I added in some music (you’ll hear it when you watch the video below).

Immediately after finishing the video, I emailed it to my mum and called her right away. I intended it to be a surprise for my sister and her fiancé, but I was too excited to keep it to myself for 3 more days (I’m like that). Mum figured out how to open it (too big as an attachment, so google sent it as a link to a google drive). She was SO happy to see it! So much so that she told me the next day (when I went home to do bridal shower errands with her) that she watched it about 5 bagillion times (I know thats not a legit number) and also sent it to my Grandpa & his lady (Jo) and then they watched it a bunch and emailed her back to say how awesome it was! Are you excited? Quite the build up, eh? (<<can you tell i’m from Canada haha)

Obviously the music/song is (c)opywrite, but I figure since i’m not making any money off of the video, and i’m just using it to round out the surprise gift, its probably okay that I used more than 30s of the song.

I heard that if you are using 30s or less of a song, you don’t have to worry about copywrite laws or something. Whether or not this is true, I dunno… but see my reasoning above and you’ll get why I wasn’t too concerned.

I added in some of the images we took during the photoshoot to help transition between video clips and lengthen the video as well. I will embed the video below and add some of the photos from the shoot in a collage below that. Hope you all enjoy!! I am REALLY quite proud of the final product.

 The song choice was a bit obvious, but they’re two very fun loving peeps so I thought it was very appropriate. Scroll down for some snapshots from their engagement shoot!

Hope you enjoy! As always, stay tuned for more photography adventures and fun creative goodies.

xo

Published by

themellowbeat

Go on over to "a sneak peek" to learn more about me!

Leave a Reply

