Bridal Shower Update

Hello lovelies. I’m keeping up with this blog-post situation quite nicely, wouldn’t you say? I’m actually impressed with myself, not gonna lie. I am taking time on my weekends and days off to write out a few posts in advance (of whatever excitement i’m working on at the time) and scheduling them to be released every few days. It really is a handy feature in the blog world – even if life gets busy, your posts are released even if you forget to press “go!”

A few days ago I wrote about creating invitations on the computer with photoshop. We looked at a step-by-step Bridal Shower invitation for my sister’s upcoming party. Last Sunday, while my hubby was at work, I met my sister in London for coffee and chatties. After running some errands (me) and a workout (sister), we hit up a Starbucks for bevvies and discussion of all sorts of nonsense – Father’s day (& Grandfather’s day)/ our brother’s 24th birthday (oh gawd I’m feeling old) and also her wedding plans and how things were going. We’re into the double digits for the countdown and I know i’m only going to get more and more excited as time ticks down.

The shower that my mum and I are throwing for Big Sister is all garden tea party themed. I have all of these fun ideas running around in my head (thanks pinterest!) and really wanted old fashioned tea cups or teapots or SOMETHING to make the theme really pop. Big sister is a fan of themed anything — as long as it has direction we’re good to go. Enter “HomeSense” — I don’t really know how to describe the place, just that it seems to have everything for decoration your home. Big sister needed to check it out and invited me along to continue our date. We found some amazing goodies for her shower.

DSC_4015

Look at how CUTE those are! Floral and polkadots.. you are speaking my language HomeSense! We both got super excited when we came across these gems – the cups were only a few dollars, and the teapot wasn’t too pricey either. Luckily we both had a gift card (though mine had only about 3$ left on it haha).

These six teacups are going to be used as centre-pieces for the tables at the shower. We’re going to fill them up with nice big flowers. The options are big fluffy pink hydrangeas (from my garden) or perhaps I could get some faux-flowers from the dollar store. I might even go the floral shop route and pick some small, inexpensive flowers and bunch them all together.  The “head table” will be set with the pretty teapot full of flowers as well, and the 2 sugar dishes…we’ll figure that out. We plan on giving the white teapot, cups, and sugar dish as a prize for one of the games. I will also pick up a few more prizes – a bottle of wine, some artisan soaps handmade by my mum (future post topic!), and something else I can’t think of right now.

Still a lot to do for the shower: more decorations, lots of crafting on my part, thank-you gifts to put together, and of course putting it all together. Make sure you check back here for updates on how the big day is coming along!

As always, thanks for directing your webs to the Mellow Beat.

xo

Published by

themellowbeat

Go on over to "a sneak peek" to learn more about me!

Leave a Reply

