On the Hook – Rustic Ripples

In one of my last posts, I mentioned a big ripple blanket that I was working on. Today’s post will be the big reveal of my finished giant rustic ripple blanket.

I am a big fan of crochet, and to a lesser degree, knitting. I first learned to crochet from an old friend – starting with the basics. I thought I could create a whole blanket out of “single crochet” … and I guess you could, but it would be very boring and would eat up a LOT of yarn.

By some magic, I came across “attic 24” – a blog by this lovely mum in England who has created numerous free patterns for the colour happy people of the world. Everything about her creations make my heart sing – colour everywhere! Her “tadah” moments are my favourite because you can really see how much she LOVES each item she creates. Another great thing about her blog is the picture heavy tutorials and GREAT explanations. I learned most of what I know about crochet from Lucy @ Attic 24 . I really suggest checking out her blog and tutorials.

One of my favourite patterns is Lucy’s “Ripple Blanket” I think I’m on my 3rd ripple… maybe 2nd? Either way, I made one for my dad for father’s day a few years ago & finished my own rustic ripple adventure while on recovery. I’m used “Woolspun” yarn by Lionbrand. I came across it at Michael’s craft store just after my wedding. It is 80% acrylic & 20% wool – has a really nice softness and a bit of a shine. I’ve chosen all warm rustic colours (dark oranges, mustard yellows, warm brownish colours.. and to give it a pop, a lighter wheat colour and a dark reddish colour). Look out below for some pictures of this super cosy blanket!

crochet ripples big

Our cat (Meester Miao… or “Mister” for short) enjoying the new heavy duty rustic ripple!

crochet ripples

A close up of the happy warm ripples as I trudged through the rows. Check back in later for more fun crafts and happy things.

xo

Published by

themellowbeat

Go on over to "a sneak peek" to learn more about me!

Leave a Reply

